The Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, has the responsibility for the general administration of the natural resources of the Yukon Territory, except game. The Department maintains three lands and mining offices at various points in the Territory. Other departments and agencies of the Federal Government, including the Department of Justice, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Departments of National Defence, Citizenship and Immigration, Mines and Technical Surveys, National Revenue, Transport, Post Office, Agriculture, Fisheries, Public Works and the Unemployment Insurance Commission, also maintain offices in the Yukon Territory.*

Northwest Territories.—As reconstituted on Sept. 1, 1905, these comprise:—

- (1) all that part of Canada north of the Sixtieth Parallel of North Latitude, except the portions thereof within the Yukon Territory and the Provinces of Quebec and Newfoundland, and
- (2) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1952, c. 331) provides for the appointment of a Commissioner to administer the government of the Territories under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. As a matter of practice the appointment is held by the Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. For administrative purposes the Territories are divided into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin (Order in Council dated Mar. 16, 1918). The Northwest Territories Act, as amended, also provides for a Council of nine members, four of whom are elected in the Mackenzie District and five of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has legislative powers respecting such matters as direct taxation, establishment and tenure of territorial offices, municipal institutions, controverted elections, licences, incorporation of companies, property and civil rights, administration of justice, game, education, hospitals and generally all matters of a local or private nature. The Council meets once each year in the Territories and at least once each year in Ottawa, which is the seat of government. The resources, except game, remain under the control of the Federal Government. The administration of legislation passed by the Commissioner in Council and the management of resources under federal legislation are carried on by the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Administrative offices are located in the Territories at Fort Smith, Yellowknife, Hay River and Inuvik.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

(As at Apr. 1, 1960)

| Commissioner | R. G. ROBERTSON |
|------------------------|---|
| Deputy Commissioner | W. G. BROWN |
| Members of the Council | |
| Appointed | C. M. DRURY, H. M. JONES, W. G. BROWN, L. H. NICHOLSON (one vacancy) |
| Elected | K. LANG, J. W. GOODALL, R. C. PORRITT, E. J. GALL |

Officers of the Council-

Secretary...... G. A. MACKINNON (acting) Legal Adviser...... E. R. Olson

* Further information on officials of various Federal Government departments serving Yukon Territory may be obtained from the Director, Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, Ottawa.